Skip to main content

James W. Simpkins, PhD - Group Leader

Professor; Director, Center for Basic and Translational Stroke Research; Barbara B. Highland Stroke Chair

James W. Simpkins, PhD

304.293.7430

Our lab studies the causes and potential treatment for Alzheimer’s disease (AD) and stroke in animal models and in human subjects. We are trying to understand the cause of brain damage from AD stroke and to develop treatments based on our understanding of causes.

Affiliations

Physiology, Pharmacology, & Neuroscience; Blanchette Rockefeller Neurosciences Institute

Graduate Training

 PhD, Physiology, Michigan State University; MS, Biology, University of Toledo


Research Topics

Our lab studies the causes and potential treatment for Alzheimer’s disease (AD) and stroke in animal models and in human subjects. We are trying to understand the cause of brain damage from AD stroke and to develop treatments based on our understanding of causes. We use rats to induce stroke damage and a variety of techniques, including molecular biology, behavioral assessment and drug interventions to determine the causes and potential treatment for stroke damage. Our work also involves the use of transgenic mouse models, primarily for modeling AD. West Virginia has one of the highest incidences of stroke in the nation and currently therapies to limit stoke damage are limited. Our lab therefore is searching for novel treatments that can limit the damage and/or improve recovery from stroke.

Dana Foundation Blog: Dr. Simpkins on Stroke - http://danablog.org/2014/05/29/james-simpkins-on-stroke/


Lab Personnel

 Xuefang Sophie Ren
Xuefang Ren, MD

Director, Experimental Stroke Core
xuren@hsc.wvu.edu

Elizabeth Engler-Chiurazzi, PhD
Elizabeth Engler-Chiurazzi, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow
elengler@hsc.wvu.edu

Stephanie Rellick, PhD
Stephanie Rellick, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow
srellick@hsc.wvu.edu

Danielle Doll, PhD
Danielle Doll, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow
ddoll@mix.wvu.edu

Saumyendra Sarkar, PhD
Research Associate
snsarkar@hsc.wvu.edu

Heng Hu, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
hehu@hsc.wvu.edu

Sujung Jun, PhD
Sujung Jun, PhD

Research Associate
sujun@hsc.wvu.edu

Sara Lewis, MS
Sara Lewis, MS

Lab Manager
selewis@hsc.wvu.edu

JZ Cavendish
Graduate Student
jcavend4@mix.wvu.edu

Ashley Kerr
Ashley Kerr

Graduate Student
aekerr@mix.wvu.edu

Dominic Quintana
Dominic Quintana

Graduate Student
ddquintana@mix.wvu.edu

Keyana Porter
Keyana Porter

Graduate Student
knporter@mix.wvu.edu

Former Undergraduate Students

Sarah Sine
Biology Undergraduate Student


Publications

[2016]

More publications: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed